WELCOME TO JOBURG BALLET

Established in July 2012 Joburg Ballet (JB) is the country’s largest and most prestigious professional ballet company.

JB is a non-profit, Section 21 Company, proudly resident at the Joburg Theatre. The company consists of permanent and ad-hoc dancers skilled in both classical ballet and contemporary dance.

An extensive repertoire includes works by Petipa, Ivanov, Bovim, Maqoma, Paeper, Balanchine, Saint-Léon, Wubbe and others. An active performance schedule is maintained with two major seasons at the Joburg Theatre as well as promotional events, corporate entertainment, local and international tours.

In addition to the professional company, and under the auspices of JB, the following programs are managed:

- Development School in Alexandra, Tshwane, Madibatlou, Sophiatown, Melville, Soweto and – Braamfontein.
- An extra-curricular Ballet Academy for high school students
- A Graduate (apprenticeship) Program

Don Quixote, Celebration 7 & Gauteng Opera’s Double Bill Joburg Theatre
Friday 28 August Don Quixote 19:30
Saturday 29 August Don Quixote 15:00
Saturday 29 August Gauteng Opera’s Double Bill 20:00
Sunday 30 August Don Quixote 15:00
Tuesday 1 September Don Quixote 11:00
Friday 4 September Celebration 7 19:30
Saturday 5 September Don Quixote 15:00
Saturday 5 September Celebration 7 19:30
Sunday 6 September Don Quixote 15:00
Tuesday 8 September Celebration 7 11:00
Thursday 10 September Gauteng Opera’s Double Bill 20:00
Friday 11 September Don Quixote 19:30
Saturday 12 September Don Quixote 15:00
Saturday 12 September Celebration 7 19:30
Sunday 13 September Don Quixote 15:00

 

LATEST NEWS

20150711_sml

Joburg Ballet announces casts for Don Quixote

Cuban-born ballerina Claudia Monja headlines the opening night cast of Joburg Ballet’s Don... Read More »

 
women_sml

The women of Joburg Ballet

Dancers, teachers and admin staff – take a breather to celebrate Women’s Day... Read More »

 
LianeLurie1_Credit_Lauge Sorensen_sml

Classical Don Quixote opens

Following Joburg Ballet’s spectacular Swan Lake in April and May, the ballet company’s... Read More »